Life · The Bustache · VW Bus

And then, world peace!

Steve and I have spent the last 2 years living with a friend from college.  He’s been a great roommate, but he went and got his MBA.  Now he’s moving up to Burbank to make some moola in the entertainment industry.  We wish him the best of luck… but he’s left us in a dilemma.

We currently live in a 3 bedroom place.  Bigger (and more expensive) than a couple and their dog needs.  Sooo… we can find a new roommate, or, find a new smaller/cheaper place to live.

I prefer the former option.  Steve prefers the latter.

But there IS a third option that gets my heart-a-pumin’ and my mind all-a-buzz.

We.
Could.
Live.
In.
The Bustache!

Hello?  Is anyone still there?

Yep.  That’s pretty much the typical response I get when I mention option 3.

I mean, we aren’t REALLY going to do it.   There are 2 of us.  We both have 9-5 professional jobs.  We have a 65lbs pooch.

But I can’t help fantasize about it a little.  (Let me be clear, this is really just my fantasy.  Steve becomes very quiet, nods his head and smiles when I bring it up.  He’s trying to be supportive by not out-right squelching my dreams.  I know in his head he’s hoping this will quietly go away… But now I’m writing about it for the whole interwebs to see!  It will live online forever, because this idea is GENIUS!   Hehe!).

It’s a challenge, a test and an experiment.  We’re happiest when we’re on the road in Bustache.  Imagine how happy we’d be if we did this EVERY DAY!?!  It would force us to pair down to the necessities.  We’d have to be strategic about our belongings.  We’d have to spend most of our free time outside – exploring the world and meeting new people!  We’d reshuffle our priorities; fall even deeper in love with each other.  We’d inspire others to do the same, and then we’d solve world hunger and bring about universal peace.

What? This is my fantasy, remember?

As you can tell, I have the tendency to go a little overboard.  Thus, in my attempt to seem rational and organized, I sent the following email to Steve.

Rent for us = $24,000/year.If we lived in Bustache and took Westi to Doggie-Day-Care everyday, it would cost us about $500/month ($6000/year).

http://www.wagsandwiggles.com/daycare.shtml

I would have to get access to a gym so I could shower… $40 a month ($480/year).

I would also get myself and iPad with 3G (or 4G) access.  Then I would get you one, so you wouldn’t steal mine. $1400.00 (for 2).

We would also have to invest in getting Bustache working with the sink, stove & fridge along with a couple of other upgrades … $2000?

And we’d have to pay for a storage facility for all our stuff.  About $150/month (1800/year).

Soooo… that all adds up to about $12,000.  Which means we’d save about $12,000.

What do you think?  :-)

Steve’s response?  Typical.

When I mentioned this to my mom, her response?  Typical.

She then told my dad (a mountain man at heart who once told me he didn’t understand why we even had houses!).  I thought my dad would be on my side, but he called me and very seriously told me “The Bustache living concept, is NOT a good idea.”

Fine.  I get it.  But a girl can dream…

Anyone want to throw a vote in my direction?  Or, does anyone else have a ridiculous dream they’d like to share with the interwebs? :-(D

18 thoughts on “And then, world peace!

  1. Living in a van is possibly one of the most fun and freeing adventures you can have. I lived in a van for three months and felt like I could live in one forever. DO IT. At least try it out and see what happens.

      1. (hiiii Sierra! Ete sen?) I lived in a van in New Zealand for three months last fall. Even though we were traveling, it was really the same as living in one in one place (depending on where you sleep, as discussed below). The van was super basic. Two front seats and a raised platform in the back with a foam mattress on it. Sleeping bags on top, all belongings below.

        I honestly don’t see any issues having a 60lb dog as long as there is enough room for you, Steve, and the dog to sleep comfortably. We met two people who were living in a slightly larger van with a baby and a four year old (and they weren’t weird). Anything is possible.

        The only real issue you’ll have is finding a place to park each night. Depending where you want to “live” you may not have the most accommodating neighbors (people that don’t want you parking on their street). However, I know someone who lived in a van all summer who managed to park on 11th street in Del Mar and no one ever reported him, so it is totally possible. I also know someone who got away with doing this for a whole year in the pacific northwest.

        The other better but more expensive option would be to rotate campgrounds. This has major added benefits such as bathrooms, running water, and the most amazing ability to cook all of your emails outside and relax in nature.

        You can do it!! Put your belongings in storage and try it for a month!

      2. I love how you had to specifically note that the couple with the baby wasn’t weird! Haha! :-)

        Wow! New Zealand! In a van for 3 months. What an adventure! That just sounds so awesome.

        I think we might try it for a month! Maybe do half & half with campgrounds (RV Parks) and finding a place on the street. We’ve slept in Bustache many nights in quiet neighborhoods, and have never had any problems. But we never did so more than 3 nights. And we had to move spots each night (our bus is a bit suspicious looking… ;-). But it’s good to know it can be done! The job thing is a little bit of an issue. We want to keep working while we do this… have to make sure we can keep ourselves looking presentable!

        Hope you are well! Are you still living on the Peninsula?

  2. Maizy and I share this dream with each other on a regular basis. Maizy, being the virgo that she is, has sent me emails almost exactly like the one you shared with us on this post. It does seem a little crazy at first. Crazy but possible. The majority of folks will try to steer you away from this path, especially your parents. I think being a bus owner already gives you the prerequisite amount of patience. I feel like an adventure such as this would be a true litmus test to the strength of your relationship (if your doing it as a family or a couple) Nothing ever goes EXACTLY as you plan it. When I’m not long for this world, I want to be able to say I tried it. Sometimes, you just have to take a leap of faith. I’m going to do it. I don’t know when, and it might not be in the Pig, but it will be in a VW Bus, and it will be awesome.

    1. Your comment made me smile. I agree. We will do it. Not sure when, but it will happen and it WILL be AWESOME!

      I love your point about already having the “prerequisite amount of patience.” So true!!! If VW ownership teaches you anything, it teaches you patience.

      BTW – tell Maizy if she ever needs a planning partner, I’m her gal!

  3. I’m sure your capable of this. Unfortunately many cities have an ordinance against this sort of activity (living in a vehicle) so the police can force you to leave if someone complains. Something to look into before going all bus, all the time.

    1. Good point, Michelle. This adds more strategy to the idea… couldn’t stay in one place for longer than 1-2 nights, I suppose. Although, it’s hard for me to imagine who wouldn’t want a fine specimen, such as the Bustache, parked in front of their house! :-(D

  4. OMG my crazy friend, Sierra. I love you. You crack me up. I think Jeremy and I are with Steve, your mom and your dad on this one… I think you should save the Bustache for very special adventures… it may lose the magic if you live in it all the time! Ohhhh and I love how you made your case to Steve. That’s exactly how I approach things with Jeremy, too! :) xo. Miss you!

Leave a Reply

